

Euratom Research in Action and Opportunities for Europe

C.4 - EURATOM Research

EU Strategic Autonomy and the Future Energy Systems

Tuesday 4 April 2023

Charlemagne building, Sicco Mansholt room, 170 Rue de la Loi, Brussels

8:30 – 9:00 Registration and coffee

Session 1 chaired by Signe Ratso, Deputy Director-General, European Commission, DG RTD

9:00 - 9:20 Welcome and introduction

- Signe Ratso, Deputy Director-General, European Commission, DG RTD
- Désirée Comstedt, Vice-President of Vattenfall

9:20 - 9:40 Present and future nuclear energy challenges

- Rafael Grossi, Director General, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
- François Jacq, General Administrator, French Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)

9:40 – 10:00 Safety and nuclear fuel diversification

- Jean-Christophe Niel, ETSON member, Chair of CSNI (NEA) and DG of IRSN
- Johan Hallen, Director at Westinghouse Electric Sweden

Session 2 chaired by Marc Lemaître, Director-General, European Commission, DG RTD

10:00 – 10:40 From hard tech to arts and attracting young talents in nuclear

- Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Education, Research and Innovation
- Cécile Massart, Artist The Consciousness of the Landscape (Radioactive waste)
- Young talents in nuclear (3' pitch each):
 - o Adela Chalupova, NPP Turbine Operator Trainee
 - o Umberto Giuliani, PhD student at University of Padova
- Leon Cizelj, President, European Nuclear Society (ENS)
- Csilla Pesznyàk, President of European Nuclear Education Network (ENEN)

10:40 – 11:10 European SMR Pre-Partnership

- Jan Panek, Director, European Commission, DG ENER, Nuclear energy, safety and ITER
- Yves Desbazeille, Director General of Nucleareurope
- Bernard Salha, Vice-President and CTO of EDF and President of SNETP

Commissioner Gabriel Declaration on

'EU SMR 2030: Research & Innovation, Education & Training'

Co-signed by Nucleareurope, SNETP, ENS and ENEN

11:10 – 11.40 Coffee & SMR models / Euratom R&T projects visit for participants 11:15 – 11.35 Press point in the room by Commissioner Gabriel and stakeholders

Session 3 chaired by Jean Bergevin, Senior Expert, European Commission, DG GROW

11:40 – 12:10 Euratom R&I priorities – New Work Programmes

- Elena Righi-Steele, Head of Unit, Euratom Research, DG RTD
- Domenico Rossetti di V., Deputy Head of Unit, Euratom Research, DG RTD
- Manuel Martin Ramos, Deputy Head of Unit, Euratom coordination, DG JRC

12:10 – 12:30 International fusion materials irradiation facility – DONES

- Carlos Alejaldre, Chair of the F4E Governing Board & emeritus scientist CIEMAT
- Tonči Tadić, Rudjer Boskovic Institute

12:30 - 13:00 Concluding remarks and next steps

- Cyril Piquemal, French Deputy Permanent Representative
- Jan Prášil, Director, Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Czech Republic
- Marc Lemaître, Director-General, European Commission, DG RTD

13:00 – 14:00 Sandwich lunch and visit of SMR models and Euratom R&T posters